Macrium Support Forum

This forum is for Version 5 of Macrium Reflect.
Version 6 users should join our new forum here.

Version 5 support expired on 17 February 2016.

Find out more
Macrium Support Forum
Macrium Support Forum    RSS 2.0  RSS Feed      KB
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
 All Forums
 Reflect v4
 Rescue CD
 How do I add U SB 3.0 drivers to WIN PE rescue CD
 Forum Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

gjanu
Starting Member

USA
7 Posts

Posted - February 02 2011 :  15:12:04  Show Profile
I have ASUS latop running WIN 7 64 bit OS and use TOSHIBA Canvio Plus USB 3.0 external hard disk for backup. I created a backup image using USB 3.0 port, but for recovery functions, my WIN PE rescue environment recognizes the TOSHIBA drive only if it is connected to a USB 2.0 port. In Device Manager, I found the following USB 3.0 drivers:
FLxHCIc.sys, FLxHCIh.sys by FRESCO Logic. There is also a .dll file WdfCoinstaller01009.dll that seems to be related to the USB 3.0. I copied these files to C:\boot\macrium\Drivers\Disk and then created a WIN PE rescue CD. However, the rescue CD still does not support USB 3.0 port. What am I doing wrong? I also have, from ASUS Drive & Utility CD, a file install64.msi that is supposed to contain the USB 3.0 drivers. Can I use this file to get the USB 3.0 drivers into the WIN PE rescue environment, and how?

gjanu

C.Bamford
Moderator

United Kingdom
1002 Posts

Posted - February 02 2011 :  15:20:44  Show Profile
Hi,

Thanks for contacting us.

You will need to copy the .INF and .CAT files in addition to the .SYS files. The .DLL files will only be used in a full Windows installation so will not be needed for WinPE.

Kind regards.

Chris.

Macrium Support
Go to Top of Page

gjanu
Starting Member

USA
7 Posts

Posted - February 02 2011 :  16:06:20  Show Profile
Chris, where can I find the appropriate .inf and .cat files ?
(sorry for my ignorance). I don't think they are in Device Manager. Is there a way how to extract these from the install64.msi file?

gjanu
Go to Top of Page

C.Bamford
Moderator

United Kingdom
1002 Posts

Posted - February 02 2011 :  16:49:25  Show Profile
Hi,

Please try running the ReflectDC utility to see if it copies out the necessary files. Please make sure you recreate the rescue CD after the tool has run.

http://www.macrium.com/KB/KnowledgebaseArticle50065.aspx

Kind regards.

Chris.

Macrium Support
Go to Top of Page

gjanu
Starting Member

USA
7 Posts

Posted - February 02 2011 :  18:55:52  Show Profile
I used the ReflectDC utility and it correctly reported:
Copying files for device Fresco Logic xHCI (USB3) Controller
ImagePath is: system32\drivers\FLxHCIc.sys
INF filename is: oem15.inf
Success
and the files FLxHCIc.sys, FLxHCIc.inf and FLxHCIc.cat were loaded into C:\boot\Macrium\drivers\USB\FLxHCIc folder . Also other drivers (e.g. Intel 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller etc.) were loaded into appropriate subfolders.
I then recreated the Rescue CD with WIN PE. When the WIN PE is booting, it does display "loading driver FLxHCIc.sys", however the Toshiba backup drive connected to the USB 3.0 port still does not show in Windows Explorer, or in directory of images for restore selection. I also checked in WIN PE folder
WINDOWS\System32\Drivers and the driver FLxHCIc.sys is NOT listed, even though WIN PE did display "loading driver FLxHCIc.sys".
What am I doing wrong? Is it possible that the ReflectDC utility does not find ALL drivers necessary for USB 3.0 operation?

gjanu
Go to Top of Page

gjanu
Starting Member

USA
7 Posts

Posted - February 02 2011 :  20:48:20  Show Profile
I checked again after booting a WIN PE rescue CD. The USB 3.0 drivers are actually loading on WIN PE startup and when I check in
WINDOWS\system32\drivers folder, the drivers show in the list.
So, could it be that the Fresco Logic USB 3.0 drivers that work in my WIN 7 64 bit OS are not compatible with the WIN PE 64 bit OS?

gjanu
Go to Top of Page

M.Castaldo
Moderator

United Kingdom
546 Posts

Posted - February 03 2011 :  08:21:39  Show Profile
Hi,

Thanks for posting back.

WinPE 2.1 x64 is based on the Windows Vista Kernel so you would need to use the Windows Vista x64 drivers to get your USB 3.0 working within Windows PE rescue CD.

Kind Regards,

Martin - Macrium Support
Go to Top of Page

gjanu
Starting Member

USA
7 Posts

Posted - February 03 2011 :  15:05:14  Show Profile
Hi Martin,
thank you for your reply!
I updated USB 3.0 drivers to the latest version from Fresco Logic- ver. 3.0.110.12. Per Fresco Logic web site, these drivers are supposed to support WIN 7 64 bit as well as WIN VISTA 64 bit. I created a new WIN PE rescue CD; when the WIN PE loads up, it does show loading these new USB 3.0 drivers, however the TOSHIBA backup drive connected to USB 3.0 port stil does not show in Windows PE Explorer.
I guess I am giving this up and will have to, for Restore, connect my TOSHIBA backup drive to a USB 2.0 port, which works fine in WIN PE environment. I just hate to live with the fact that a backup of the whole computer takes about 1 hour and restore takes about 10 hours.
I will look forward to any MACRIUM update that will support USB 3.0 functionality.
Thank you


gjanu
Go to Top of Page

tilsonpa
Starting Member

3 Posts

Posted - February 06 2011 :  03:26:03  Show Profile
I also have a Western Digital USB 3.0 3TB drive that I had planned to use to hold 4 or 5 disk images of my C drive. I started with the Acronis software, but after 5 days of trying to get it to restore an image, I gave up.

I saw an ad for Macrium Reflect and it said that it would handle
imaging on USB 3.0 drives with GPT partition style, so I bought it.

After 3 days of struggling with it, and not being able to get it to find my WD drive, I decided to research the web, some more to see if I could find a solution. Then I ran upon this forum.

YOU'VE GOT TO BE KIDDING. Is it this complicated to try to get it to work, and it still doesn't work. It looks like I will have to ask for a refund and throw this WD in the garbage. Is there not a solution anywhere, and why are companies advertising that it will work with USB 3.0, when it won't.
Go to Top of Page

john.p
Moderator

887 Posts

Posted - February 07 2011 :  09:01:42  Show Profile
Hi,

As there seems to be a specific issue with WD USB3 interfaces, we would very much appreciate it if you could help us get to the bottom of this issue.

So we can see the specification of your system, could you run 'System Information' ('All Programs' > 'Accessories' > 'System Tools' > 'System Information') and take the 'File' > 'Save' menu option. Save the '.nfo' file and attach it to an email to support at macrium dot com.

Many thanks,

Kind Regards
John - Macrium Support
Go to Top of Page

gjanu
Starting Member

USA
7 Posts

Posted - February 08 2011 :  17:51:59  Show Profile
John,
thank you for your interest in fixing this problem. Per your request, I e-mailed the system information .nfo file to Macrium support.
Just to sumarize my problem: I managed to create a WIN PE Rescue CD that contains the proper USB 3.0 drivers for my system. When the WIN PE boots up, it displays "Loading flxhcic.sys" and "Loading flxhcih.sys" and these two drivers also show in WIN PE in folder WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS . However, the USB 3.0 still does not function and my TOSHIBA Canvio USB 3.0 backup drive that is connected to a USB 3.0 port does not show in WIN PE Explorer, or in directory of images for Restore selection.
The drivers are provided b Fresco Logic and are supposed to work in WIN VISTA 64 bit as well as WIN 7 64 bit and work fine on my laptop. The flxhcic.sys is a Fresco Logic (USB 3) device driver and the flxhcih.sys is a Fresco Logic (USB 3) hub device driver.
As it is, I can do a full system backup in about 2 hours (about 300 Gb) using the USB 3.0 port, but for a Restore I have to connect my backup drive to a USB 2.0 port for it to work in WIN PE environment. Then the restore function runs about 10 times slower than the Backup. Fortunately, the Backup is done frequently and the Restore perhaps never...

gjanu
Go to Top of Page

tilsonpa
Starting Member

3 Posts

Posted - February 08 2011 :  20:43:30  Show Profile
John.p,

The file you asked for, is attached to the email that was sent to me. I couldn't find a way to attach it to this post.

Do you think that the approach made by gjanu might work for me and this Western Digital disk? I so want this to work. It would be great if I could store 4 or 5 images taken at two week intervals. Then when I get a virus or problems start occurring because of bad software I have downloaded or because of changes I have made to the registry, I could just re-image to a time before I got the virus. If I reimage to my last one and still have a problem, I could go back to one of the previous versions.
Go to Top of Page

M.Castaldo
Moderator

United Kingdom
546 Posts

Posted - February 09 2011 :  09:48:52  Show Profile
Both taken to email

Thanks,

Martin - Macrium Support
Go to Top of Page

tilsonpa
Starting Member

3 Posts

Posted - February 11 2011 :  16:53:44  Show Profile
I had reflect, WinPE, and ReflectDC all installed before I created my PE rescue CD.

I created an image of my C drive onto my Western Digital USB 3.0 3TB Drive. It is using GPT format style, not MBR. I have the Macrium add-on installed. With all of the above software installed, I created a Rescue CD and tried to restore my system from the image file. In the "locate image" screen, the drive that contains the image, does show(G:). It has a long name under my folder called "Macrium Images". It shows the backup with the date, type = full, and shows the ID. I selected the image file and clicked next. This took me to the screen to "select the partition you want to restore". I selected the partition for the C drive and selected next. The next screen says "choose partition to overwrite". I selected my C drive partition and selected next.

It gave me a screen that says "Drive C: is locked, select one of the following: Close all Windows applications and try again. How do you do that. I don't have anything else running, but reflect. Do I open up the services manager and stop every service in windows? I don't think so. Why would that option even be there? The next option is to reboot and select the "Reflect recovery environment" from the Windows boot menu. So I rebooted and hit F12 for the boot options and the Reflect option is not one of the options. So why is this on the reflect screen?

The last option says to reboot and start the Reflect Rescue CD. My rescue CD was created after all of the software was installed, including ReflectDC, which is supposed to save the drivers in the Boot folder on my C drive. So I booted up from the rescue CD and could see my flash drive, and its files, but did not see my WD drive. It is normally drive F when I am booted into windows. There was an F drive that showed "Recovery" under it. I tried to select it but the next option stayed grayed out. I am pretty sure this is the Dell Recovery partition. I tried to add some drivers at the command prompt, but to no avail. In my device manager, it shows a Renesas Electrics USB 3.0 Host controller, and USB 3.0 ROOT Hub. I added the drivers to the Boot folder under drivers\usb. I looked at my C drive, boot folder under drivers\usb and there were 3 folders with .inf files with the same name as the folder. That is where I added my folder for the host controller and root hub, but the files are .sys, not INF.

I do so want it to work, because it created my disk image in about 50 minutes, where windows 7 backup takes about 4 hours on my USB 2.0 drive. Windows 7 will not create an image on my WD USB 3.0 drive. Is there anything else I can try?

Go to Top of Page

Nick
Moderator

United Kingdom
6303 Posts

Posted - February 12 2011 :  13:35:08  Show Profile
Taken to email

Nick - Macrium Support

Go to Top of Page

cajun100
Starting Member

USA
6 Posts

Posted - March 04 2011 :  23:32:27  Show Profile
Just for the record, I have other PE boot disks and have found NONE yet that would recognize the WD 1TB Passport USB drives I have (the 3.0/2.0 model). So it looks like a WD USB interface problem, or something about the new driver not really being fully backward compatible.

BTW, the rescue disks included one made from Paragon 2010 and one from the latest O&O backup set.

To clarify, I have only tested with Win7 Ultimate (with and without SP1), not Vista or XP.
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 2 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Next Page
 Forum Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Macrium Support Forum © Paramount Software UK Ltd Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 1.65 seconds. Snitz Forums 2000