Win7 PC will not boot from Rescue CD
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

johngie

United Kingdom
10 Posts

Posted - July 07 2013 :  12:18:10  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm new to Macrium so this might be my fault. The computer runs Win 7 Ultimate. I created a rescue CD and all went well with no error messages. To test it I changed the boot order in the BIOS and restarted the computer. It started the CD and seemed to be loading Windows but came up with the message screen saying:

Windows Boot Manager

Windows failed to start.....

(and options like contacting my network manager....)

then:

Info: Windows failed to boot because the ACPI firmware (BIOS) RSDB table is invalid.

I can't find anything in the forum or in the knowledgebase about this. Where can I go go from here?

I'm at least glad I tried it first - would have assumed all was well otherwise. Thankfully when the CD was removed the computer booted normally into Windows 7.

Edited by - johngie on July 07 2013 12:25:11

Nick

United Kingdom
6075 Posts

Posted - July 07 2013 :  14:08:13  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi

Thanks for your post.

This error generally means that your computer is not compatible with the version of Windows PE that you have built. For PE 3.1 that's Windows 7, for PE 4.0 it's Windows 8. Have you built a PE 3 or PE 4 rescue CD?

If you've built a PE 3.1 rescue CD can you please confirm that the boot menu is capable of loading Windows PE. Take 'Other Tasks' > 'Add recovery boot menu' and can you also try building a fresh rescue CD.

Kind regards

Nick - Macrium Support

Go to Top of Page

johngie

United Kingdom
10 Posts

Posted - July 07 2013 :  16:02:08  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
It's PE 3.1. I'm not quite sure what you mean when you ask me to check "whether the boot menu is capable of loading PE". How do I check that - since the computer didn't boot from the recovery CD anyway?